A.E. Alexander Lecture

A. E. Alexander


The A.E. Alexander Lecture was established in 1978 to commemorate Professor Albert ‘Alex’ Alexander FAA FRACI, who was Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Sydney from 1957–1970. It was established as a result of an appeal by the University of Sydney and the RACI Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry. Historically, the lecture has been delivered at a national meeting of the RACI Colloid and Surface Chemistry Division and at the University of Sydney. RACI reached an agreement with ACIS to transfer their role in administering and selecting the Alexander lecturer to the Board of ACIS in 2014.

The Alexander Lecturer is an eminent scientist who has contributed particularly to Colloid and Surface Science in Australia. The lecture is now delivered at a national meeting of the Australasian Colloid and Interface Society and at the University of Sydney.

Previous Alexander Lecturers:

2024 Calum Drummond (RMIT University)

2022 Stephen Hyde (University of Sydney)

2019 Regine Von Klitzing (Technische Universit├Ąt Darmstadt)

2017 Greg Warr (University of Sydney)
2015 Paul Mulvaney (University of Melbourne)
2013 Roger Horn (Deakin)
2011 Kazue Kurihara (Tohoku)
2009 Franz Grieser (Melbourne)
2007 Brian Vincent (Bristol)
2005 John Ralston (U. South Australia)
2003 Mats Almgren (Uppsala)
2001 T. Kunitake (RIKEN)
1998 R. Buscall (ICI Technology)
1997 G.T. Barnes (Queensland)
1994 J. Lyklema (Wageningen)
1992 J.N. Israelachvili (U.C. Santa Barbara)
1991 T.W. Healy (Melbourne)
1988 B.W. Ninham (ANU)
1987 R.J. Hunter (Sydney)
1986 D.A. Haydon (Cambridge)
1984 R.K. Iler (E.I. DuPont de Nemours)
1982 R.H. Ottewill (Bristol)
1981 J.T.G. Overbeek (Utrecht)

Copyright ACIS Ltd, 2013–2023; ABN 68 159 166 766

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software