The ACIS/ECIS Award recognises the most outstanding student oral presentation at the student conference, by a student typically in their second or third year of PhD.

The Award consists of a contribution towards costs for attending the European Colloids and Interface Society (ECIS) Conference in the same year as the student conference, with the (reciprocal) agreement that the ECIS conference registration will be waived by our European colleagues.

The Award was established in 2013 as a result of the links between the Board of Australasian Colloids and Interface Society (ACIS) and the Board of ECIS, and aims to strengthen and expand the scientific connections between the two Societies.


A number of staff attending the student conference will be chosen to be on the selection panel, and will nominate a winner and two runners-up. In judging the Award, staff consider the quality of science, communication skills, presentation style and ability to answer questions.


Students enrolled at an Australian university for less than 36 months at the time of the student conference are eligible candidates for this Award.

Students must be available to attend the ECIS conference in the same year as the student conference, and must be able to cover the additional costs for travel and accommodation not covered by the Award.

The Awardee cannot be the Awardee of the Healy–Hunter Award in the same year. The Award will be transferred to the chosen candidate, after attendance of the ECIS conference, as reimbursement upon presentation of receipts.

If the first chosen candidate is not available to attend the ECIS conference that year, they should notify ACIS as soon as possible, and the funds will be used to support attendance of the runner-up. The Award for Australian students is administered by the Awards Committee of ACIS.

Previous winners of the ACIS/ECIS award:



 2022 Daniel MorrisUniversity of New South Wales

Maryam Hosseini

University of New South Wales
 2018 Isaac Gresham   University of New South Wales
 2016 Virginia Mazzini The Australian National University
 2014 Catherine Fung University of Western Australia

Copyright ACIS Ltd, 2013–2022; ABN 68 159 166 766

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software